Army Achievement Medal and Ribbon

Army Achievement Ribbon
Army Achievement Medal
Army Achievement Ribbon

Army Achievement Medal

History - Established 1981

The Army Achievement Medal is the U.S. Army-specific version of the Achievement Medal. Each branch of the military offers a version of the award, and the United States Department of Defense has also authorized a version of the award to recognize joint activity among more than one branch. The award category was established in order to offer recognition to junior officers and other personnel who do not meet the eligibility criteria for the Meritorious Service Medal or the Commendation Medal; the Army version was authorized in 1981.


The Army Achievement Medal recognizes notable achievements and meritorious service within the Army. Junior personnel who have committed acts of bravery of a lesser degree than those eligible for the Army Commendation Medal may receive this award. The awarding of the medal is at the discretion of local commanders.

The ribbon features a large dark blue central section bisected and flanked by thin white vertical stripes. Each edge features a thick dark green stripe bisected by a thin white one. The image on the medallion is adapted from the official Army Seal and features weaponry, flags, and a scroll reading “THIS WE’LL DEFEND” over “1775.” The medal is octagonal in shape.

Oak leaf clusters may be granted for additional awards as well as the bronze “V” device in instances of valor.

Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster
Silver Oak Leaf Cluster
Bronze V