Civilian Air Medal Ribbon

Civilian Air Medal Ribbon
Civilian Air Medal Ribbon

History - Established 1942

Established on May 11, 1942, the Civilian Air Medal honors individuals for heroic acts or otherwise exceptional achievement while carrying out flight or aerial combat operations. It may be awarded either to US or foreign military or civilian personnel and is only awarded during wartime operations. Eligible operations are determined at the discretion of MAJCOMs.


The medal is bronze and in the shape of a 16-pointed compass rose. It features a swooping eagle with lightning bolts in its grasp. The ribbon is dark blue with a four thin vertical yellow stripes in the center and a thicker vertical yellow stripe on each edge; it is joined to the medal by a fleur-de-lis.

Subsequent awards may be indicated by oak leaf clusters, the “V” device, or gold or silver stars except for Coast Guard awardees, for whom no other device is authorized.

Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster
Silver Oak Leaf Cluster
Silver Star
Gold Star
Bronze V